Wednesday, July 18, 2012

A-Z Me(d?)

EDITED TO ADD: I actually didn't mean to publish this yet because I forgot a few things. One, I needed to add a shout-out to Erika, the blogger I found this meme from, and secondly, I was going to add a picture. But I haven't had any pictures I like of me taken lately so I haven't included one. Oh well, maybe next time!

Re: The title -- since I'm Canadian and all and I think this is supposed to rhyme. Which is why I added the "d?" in parentheses. But then it makes no sense. sigh. I also figured if I had any readers who don't know me all that well then I would fill this out. But since I think my mom (Hi mom!) is my most avid reader she will likely just be disappointed that there are no pictures of the kids. (Check back tomorrow Mom but not before you look at the letter "M" since it's all about you!)

A. Age:
40 (And since we were in the midst of moving I haven't had a party to celebrate yet. Not that I'm bitter or anything...)
B.
Bed size: Double. I want a queen sized bed but that would entail buying a new bed and that is just not on the list of priorities right now.
C. Chore that you hate: Cleaning the bathroom. And dealing with the compost.
D. Dogs:
No thank you. I've been scared of them since I was little.
E. Essential start to your day:
I need to wash my face with cold water and a washcloth and brush my teeth before I consider eating anything.

F. Favorite color:
To wear: Navy and Red. To decorate my house with: Anything bright.
It really depends on what it's for!
G. Gold or Silver:
Gold all the way. I don't think I look good in silver.
H. Height: 5' 8 1/4" (I don't know what my height in centimetres is and it never makes sense to me anyways!)
I. Instruments you play: Right now, just piano. At various times in my life, recorder, ukelele, hand bells, flute and violin. I played the bass drum for a song when I was in Grade 10 once. That was fun!
J. Job title:
Currently (and for the next three years I hope): Stay at home mom.
After that, well, I have a three year Bachelor of Arts with a major in English Literature so whatever you want to hire me to do it great. I've been an Administrative Assistant and do some bookkeeping. I've also done a wide variety of other things like writing, academic research and sales. Yeah, I don't really know yet what I want to be when I grow up!
K. Kids:
I have two. Sam is three and Rachel just turned one. They are the ones who allow me to hold my current job (see "J" for more details.)
L. Live: Currently, in Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario, Canada. In my lifetime I have had addresses in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan; Puttlingen, Germany; Rosthern, Saskatchewan; Lake Louise, Alberta; De Rijp and Elspeet in The Netherlands; Hebron, West Bank, Israel-Palestine; Chicago, Illinois; Burnt Church, New Brunswick; and Edmonton, Alberta.
M. Mother's name: Well I don't think my mom wants me telling her name to the internet (she's kind of private that way) but I call her "Mom," my kids call her "Oma," and my dad usually calls her "Luvvy" like Thurston Howell III off of Gilligan's Island.
N. Nicknames: Tash, Schnook (only by my dad), G-Nat (when I played Jiminy Cricket in Grade 12), Kra-hu (after a typo in our local paper). Other than that I'm not willing to share them :)
O. Overnight hospital stays: At three when I had my tonsils out and at 28 when I had lung surgery. I had two spontaneous pneumothoraces ("they" still have no idea why I had them) and had to have a piece of my lung removed.
P. Pet peeves:
People who smoke around me or my kids, "bad drivers" as defined by me (!!!) and
people who aren't committed to things.
Q. Quote from a movie:
Pretty much anything from When Harry Met Sally or The Princess Bride!
R. Right or left handed: Right handed.
S. Siblings:
Technically three. My sister ran away from home 22 years ago and I've only seen her about three times since then.

U. Underwear:
I have a slight addiction to buying underwear so I always have way too many pairs!

V. Vegetable you hate:
Does cilantro count as a vegetable? Other than that not too much. I'm a veggie person th
rough and through.
W. What makes you run late:
My husband and kids. If it's just me leaving the house I'm usually about five minutes early. Otherwise we tend to run about ten minutes late which Drives. Me. Up. A. Tree.

X. X-Rays you’ve had:
Teeth. Lungs. Wrist. Probably others I can't remember.

Y. Yummy food that you make:
People tend to rave about my cookies. The secret is rolling them and not flattening them, and underbaking them just the teeniest amount! Around my circles any cookies I make are called "Tash Cookies" because they are distinctive.
Z. Zoo animal:
Um... I don't really like zoos. Maybe elephants and giraffes. And hippopotamuses. Did you know you can also say "hippopotami"?

2 comments:

  1. Amen on the running late thing. We're always late now, and, no matter how much earlier I get up, I can't seem to get around it! Gah!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have given up on getting up early. I just lose out on sleep and we are STILL late! Although my husband has really started to try lately (because he knows how much it bugs me) and we're getting a bit better at it. The unpredictable one is my three-year-old.

      Delete

Thank you for being interested in my life as I blog it and for leaving a comment. Comments make me happier than reading a good book and drinking a cold Coke. Almost :)